Incident Definitions

Date and Time - when incident first reported to the CFS.

Location Name - the general area or district where the incident was reported.

Region - the region shows where the incident is located. Find out more about the 6 Regions.

  • CFS Region 1 - Adelaide Hills, Fleurieu Peninsula and Kangaroo Island
  • CFS Region 2 - Upper Mount Lofty Ranges, Yorke Peninsula and Lower North
  • CFS Region 3 - Murraylands and Riverland
  • CFS Region 4 - Flinders, Mid North and Pastoral Areas
  • CFS Region 5 - South East
  • CFS Region 6 - Eyre Peninsula and West Coast
  • MFS - Metropolitan Fire Service

Type - describes the type of incident.

Status -

  • Going - Any fire expanding in a certain direction.
  • Contained - A fire is contained when its spread has been stopped, but it may still be burning freely within the fire control lines.
  • Controlled - The time when the complete perimeter of a fire is secured and the fire is not expected to break away.
  • Complete - The time when the incident is secured and there is no further need for CFS involvement.
  • Safe - When we consider that no further action or patrols are necessary.

Level -

  • Level 1 Incident - A simple and small incident. There is minimal threat to the community.
  • Level 2 Incident - More complex in size, resources or risk. There may be a threat to the community at a local or regional level.
  • Level 3 Incident - This may require the establishment of divisions for effective management of the situation. There will be a significant threat to the community at a local, regional or state level.

Resources - the number of CFS appliances currently attending an incident.

Aircraft - the number of aircraft currently attending an incident.