

South Australian Fire and

Emergency Services Commission

NOMINATION AND SELECTION PROCESS

The SA Emergency Service Medal and Ministerial Commendation were established in May 2001.

These awards were created to recognise the tireless and extraordinary work of persons contributing to community safety through operational emergency service organisations and associated agencies.

ABOUT THE AWARDS

The SA Emergency Services Medal (SAESM) is given to an individual or unit who has demonstrated "distinguished and/or meritorious services of the highest order" in recognition of their significant contribution to the emergency services in South Australia.

The SAESM award is a full coin Medal set and framed certificate.

Ministerial Commendation recognises The significant effort, bravery or service and is awarded for "meritorious or courageous action".

The commendation is a framed certificate and lapel pin.

ELIGIBILITY

All career staff, registered volunteers or units/brigades in the:

- SA Ambulance Service •
- SA Country Fire Service •
- SA Metropolitan Fire Service •
- SA State Emergency Service •
- SAFECOM •
- Surf Lifesaving SA •
- Volunteer Marine Rescue

CRITERIA FOR AWARDS

While it is recognised that most members of Emergency Services deserve recognition for their contributions, these Awards are intended for the few individuals or units who have gone further than that "extra mile".

Years of service alone is not normally sufficient justification for an Award. Their personal contribution should in some way be considered to be truly extraordinary.

Acts of bravery may be considered for either Award.

A person or unit may only receive the SA Emergency Service Medal once, unless receiving it across two different disciplines.

A nominee may also receive a medal and a commendation for the same event pending review by the SAFECOM Awards Committee.

PROCESS

SAFECOM is responsible for administering this award process and making recommendations to the Minister for Emergency Services.

SAFECOM provides nomination forms to Chief Officers/Chief Executives for distribution within This will occur allowing their Services. approximately an eight week period for nominations to be submitted by the agencies.

All nominations must be returned to the Chief Officers/Chief Executives who ensure sufficient information is provided to support nominations and endorse nominations for the next stage.

SAFECOM distributes all nomination forms to the SAFECOM Awards Committee. The Awards Committee consists of:

- Chief Executive (SAFECOM) •
- Chief Officers (CFS, MFS, SES) •
- Chief Executive Officer (SA Ambulance) •
- Chief Executive Officer (Surf Life Saving SA) •
- Manager (VMR) •

The Committee evaluates all nominations and provides recommendations to the Minister for Emergency Services.

The awards are presented by the Minister for Emergency Services at a ceremony as per the details listed below.

2022 TIMETABLE

15/06/2022	Nomination forms sent to SAFECOM Awards Committee for distribution amongst agency
03/08/2022	Nominations forwarded to respective Chief Officers/CEOs
31/08/2022	Nominations to be forwarded to Chief Executive, SAFECOM
07/09/2022	SAFECOM Awards Committee Meet to finalise Nominations
14/09/2022	Invitations sent to recipients and guests
28/09/2022	Citations to be reviewed by Chief Officers/CEOs
25/10/2022	Award Ceremony Presentation 11.00am – 1.00pm at: ESS Headquarters, Keswick

Julia Waddington-Powell Chief Executive SAFECOM