SA Country Fire Service

Media release

Fire season ends in all but two districts


The Fire Danger Season will end in 10 of the 15 Fire Ban Districts at midnight tonight, leaving only the Mount Lofty Ranges and Adelaide Metropolitan districts with restrictions.

Fire Danger Season restrictions will be lifted in the West Coast, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Eastern Eyre Peninsula, Mid North, Yorke Peninsula, Kangaroo Island, Murraylands, Riverland, Upper South East and Lower South East. The Season has already finished in the North West Pastoral and North East Pastoral districts, along with the Flinders district.

Whist the Fire Danger Season comes to an end, SA Country Fire Service (CFS) reminds the public to remain cautious when lighting fires, and if necessary obtain a permit.

CFS Director Preparedness Operations, Brett Loughlin said for those in the Adelaide Metropolitan and Mount Lofty Ranges they will still need to get a permit from CFS or their Local Council to conduct any burning off. For those in other areas, he warns to act cautiously.

"If you are planning burning-off activities you must ensure the fire does not get out of control and potentially threaten lives and property," said Mr Loughlin.

"There has still been no significant rain this year and therefore if fires do start they will burn quickly in the dry conditions.

"Any burning-off around homes or on properties should be done in suitable weather conditions to help reduce the risk of the burn-off spreading out of control.

"Locals residents should contact their Local Council for advice on burning-off outside of the Fire Danger Season."

The Fire Danger Season for the Adelaide Metropolitan and Mount Lofty Ranges will continue until midnight on May 12.

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia