SA Country Fire Service

Media release

<Message Starts>

Fire Danger season begins in twelve districts


The Country Fire Service (CFS) reminds people the Fire Danger Season will begin for twelve districts across the state from November 1st.
Warmer and dryer conditions throughout spring has brought forward the season for several districts.
CFS State Coordinator Yvette Dowling says now is the time to be bushfire ready.
"Just taking some small steps to prepare the home could make a big difference in a bushfire," she said.
"Mowing the lawn, clearing the gutters, pruning branches are all simple chores which could prevent a bushfire destroying a house.
"Bushfires can happen at any time of the year so it's important as we head into the Fire Danger Season everyone is contributing to reducing the impact of bushfires."
Ms Dowling says CFS volunteers will also play a role if needed this season.
"Without doubt the greatest asset of the CFS is the 14,000 plus volunteers who respond to incidents across South Australia every day but it's a share responsibility and we ask the community to do their part in preventing bushfire," she said.
The Fire Danger Season begins November 1st for: Eastern Eyre Peninsula, Flinders, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Mid North, Murraylands, North East Pastoral, North West Pastoral, Riverland, Upper South East, West Coast, and Yorke Peninsula.
For more information on restrictions during the Fire Danger Season and how to develop a Bushfire Survival Plan, visit the CFS website at

<Message Ends>

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia