SA Country Fire Service

Media release

<Message Starts>

Fire Bans in four districts tomorrow


The SA Country Fire Service (CFS) has declared TOTAL FIRE BANS for Monday, 4 May 2015 in the following Fire Ban Districts:

Northwest Pastoral - Severe

Eastern Eyre Peninsula - Severe

Mid North - Severe

Yorke Peninsula - Severe

Where Total Fire Bans have been declared, very hazardous fire weather conditions are predicted.

This announcement comes despite the Fire Danger Season being declared over at the end of April.

"It is not uncommon for the CFS to declare a Fire Ban out of the Fire Danger Season if the weather conditions change and Fire Danger Index increases," said CFS State Coordinator Leigh Miller.

"Tomorrow's fire danger is due to dry northerly winds ahead of a trough in the afternoon, which may be followed by rain tomorrow night."

"Many farmers and residents throughout the state have already planned burn offs in their paddocks or vegetation pile and they especially need to heed this warning."

Any fires on these days in these fire ban districts need to have a Schedule 10 Permit to continue with their planned burn, these are available from your local council.

A new codes of practice on fire management for broad acre burn offs and vegetation pile burning is now available on the CFS website.

"The three Codes of Practice give direction and guidelines on the safe use of fire outside the Fire Danger Season," says Mr Miller

Other fire ban districts throughout the state are reminded to remain cautious when lighting fires and check with the Local Council on what restrictions may apply.

<Message Ends>

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia