SA Country Fire Service

Media release




<Message Starts>


FIre Danger Season ends in nine more districts 



The SA Country Fire Service (CFS) has announced the Fire Danger Season will end at midnight tonight (April 15) in nine Fire Ban Districts.

The restrictions in the Kangaroo Island, Lower South East, Eastern Eyre, Flinders, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Murraylands, Riverland, Upper South East and West Coast Fire Ban Districts will all be lifted tomorrow.

Whilst the Fire Danger Season comes to an end, CFS State Coordinator Yvette Dowling is reminding the public to remain cautious when lighting fires, and if necessary obtain a permit.

"If you are planning burning-off activities you must ensure the fire does not get out of control and potentially threaten lives and property," Ms Dowling said.

"Although there has been some rain, there are still many areas of the state where the ground is dry so a fire can burn very quickly.

"Any burning-off around homes or on properties should be done in suitable weather conditions to help reduce the risk of the burn-off spreading out of control.

"Locals residents should contact their local Council for advice on burning-off outside of the Fire Danger Season."

The Fire Danger Season for the Adelaide Metropolitan, Mid North, Mount Lofty Ranges and Yorke Peninsula will continue until April 30.




<Message Ends>

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia