SA Country Fire Service




End of Fire Danger Season in six districts



The Fire Danger Season will end in six Fire Ban Districts on Saturday the 15th of April at midnight but will be extended until the 30th of April for the Flinders district in the state's north.

From the start of the year the Flinders district has missed out on rain fallen across South Australia and much of the vegetation in the district remains dry.

CFS State Coordinator Phil McDonough says land managers should be aware of what Fire Ban District they are in and what restrictions apply.

"We will still have seven of districts in the Fire Danger Season after April 15th so until they end usual Fire Danger Season restrictions will be in place," he said.

"Many land managers will want to utilise the mild autumn weather to conduct burn offs, if the district is still within the Fire Danger Season then a permit will be needed.

"When the Season ends land managers may burn without a permit but it is essential they still consult and follow the Codes of Practice.

"They will also need to be aware of other restrictions under other legislation concerning native vegetation and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)."

Mr McDonough said those camping over Easter will be able to have a comfort fire provided they follow guidelines and check restrictions if camping in a National Park or recreational reserve.

"Provided a Total Fire Ban is not in place you can have a comfort fire even within the Fire Danger Season, if it is within Adelaide metropolitan area or a township you will only be able to use charcoal as fuel as per the EPA legislation," he said.

"Local residents should contact their local council for advice on burning-off and fire activities outside of the Fire Danger Season."

The following districts will end the Fire Danger Season at midnight on April the 15th: Eastern Eyre Peninsula, West Coast, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Murraylands, Riverland, and Upper South East.

The Fire Danger Season will remain in place for the following districts: Adelaide Metropolitan, Flinders (extended), Kangaroo Island, Lower South East, Mid North, Mount Lofty Ranges, and York Peninsula.











Please do not reply to this email - you will not receive a response.

For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Further information
Information Hotline: 1800 362 361.
Hearing or speech impaired users phone: 1300 555 727 then ask for 1800 362 361.
Teletype service: TTY 133 677 then ask for 1800 362 361. More options are available at National Relay Service or

You received this email because you subscribed to our list. You can unsubscribe at any time.

 Government of South Australia