SA Country Fire Service

Media release

<Message Starts>



The Fire Danger Season will start in six CFS Fire Ban Districts tomorrow (Friday, 1 November).

CFS Director of Preparedness Operations Leigh Miller said all South Australians need to be aware of their responsibilities and restrictions when lighting fires outdoors in these areas.

"Fire restrictions will apply to the Eastern Eyre Peninsula, Lower Eyre Peninsula, West Coast, Flinders, North West Pastoral and North East Pastoral fire ban districts," Mr Miller said.

"The state's nine other districts will start their fire ban seasons a few weeks later but this doesn't mean that residents and visitors in these areas should feel relaxed or be complacent about their responsibilities in planning ahead," he said.

"No matter where you live or work, anyone can be affected by bushfire this season and that's why the CFS highly recommends developing or updating a Bushfire Survival Plan."

The Adelaide Metropolitan, Mount Lofty Ranges, Kangaroo Island, Lower South East, Upper South East, Mid North, Murraylands, Yorke Peninsula and Riverland will start their Fire Danger Seasons on various dates over the next four weeks.

Mr Miller said property owners who plan to burn grass, scrub and rubbish to reduce fuel loads in the coming weeks before the Fire Danger Season should monitor weather conditions and exercise caution with their burns.

"I urge anyone burning on a property to make sure the area is clear of all flammable material and that the burn is closely monitored at all times with sufficient water or an extinguishing agent on hand," he said.

A Ninth Schedule fire permit is required for burning activities during the Fire Danger Season and a Tenth Schedule permit for days that are declared Total Fire Ban.

Permits are issued under the Fire and Emergency Services Act 2005 by an authorised officer of a local council.

The Adelaide Metropolitan, Mount Lofty Ranges and Kangaroo Island Fire Ban Districts will start their Fire Danger Seasons on 1 December.

For more information on fire restrictions visit the CFS website at

<Message Ends>

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia