SA Country Fire Service

Media release

<Message Starts>



A group of CFS volunteers and a staff member are among this year's Australian Bravery Decorations recipients which recognise acts of bravery by members of the community.

Thomas McPeake from the CFS Goolwa Brigade has also been awarded a Commendation for Brave Conduct.

It follows an incident that involved the rescue of a woman, who was trapped in floodwaters that swept through Finniss River in the Fleurieu Peninsula in the early evening on 27 July, 2012.

Mr McPeake and five other members of his Brigade responded to the emergency following a report of woman who attempted to drive across a flooded ford but became trapped.

The team of CFS volunteers checked several crossings and located the distressed woman after hearing her screams while clinging to a tree branch in the main river channel.

In the darkness guided by torchlights, the group made their way through uneven terrain and chest-deep water to reach the woman.

Mr McPeake entered the torrent upstream with a rope tied around him and used the current to reach the woman where he reassured her and tied a second rope around her to be pulled back to safety by his colleagues.

He also received a Group Bravery Citation which included the other members of his team from the CFS Goolwa Brigade, Andrew Gabell, Paul Thurkle, Cory Johnson, Ken Smirke and Amos Zadow.

The Bravery Decorations form part of the Australian honours system and are announced by the Federal Government twice a year around April and August.

All recipients will be invited to a ceremony at Government House in their state to receive their award.

The CFS congratulates all of this year's Brave Conduct and Group Bravery Citation recipients.

<Message Ends>

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia