SA Country Fire Service

Media release

<Message Starts>



The SA Country Fire Service (CFS) is reminding South Australians that the Fire Danger Season will end in seven Fire Ban Districts from midnight tonight (Tuesday, 15 April).

Restrictions on outdoor activities that could potentially cause bushfires will be lifted in the following Fire Ban Districts:

- Eastern Eyre Peninsula
- Lower Eyre Peninsula
- Flinders
- Murraylands
- Riverland
- Upper South East
- West Coast

The five districts where Fire Danger Season restrictions still apply until April 30 are Adelaide Metropolitan, Lower South East, Mid North, Mount Lofty Ranges and Yorke Peninsula.

CFS State Coordinator Yvette Dowling said private property owners who are contemplating undertaking burn-offs as a fuel reduction strategy ahead of the next fire danger season, must remain cautious.

"Although the fire danger season may be over in 10 of the state's 15 Fire Ban Districts, fire bans can still be declared on days when conditions may change increasing the bushfire risk," Ms Dowling said.

"Anyone preparing for a fuel reduction burn on their property should check weather forecasts beforehand and take appropriate precautions," she said.

"To burn safely, people must ensure they have a four-metre fire-break and remain present while the fire is burning until it is completely extinguished."

Ms Dowling said camp fires lit during the Easter holidays should also be treated with caution.

"Embers from camp fires and barbeques can cause damage if not properly monitored or totally extinguished before leaving the camp site," she said.

For more information on Fire Danger Season dates visit the CFS website at or contact the Bushfire Information Hotline on 1300 362 361.

<Message Ends>

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia