SA Country Fire Service

Media release

<Message Starts>

Queen's Birthday Honour for CFS Captain


The Captain of the Waikerie CFS Brigade has been named among this year's Queen's Birthday Honours List.

Graeme Ward has been awarded an Australian Fire Service Medal (AFSM) for a long-standing commitment to his community and Brigade.

Graeme joined the CFS in 1976 and has continued to serve with enthusiasm and diligence over this long period.

CFS Chief Officer Greg Nettleton said Graeme's Award is recognition of his involvement with the CFS by publicly demonstrating his multiple skills as a modern-day volunteer member of a local fire brigade.

"Graeme's ability to manage any emergency situation has over time been developed through his dedication to not only improve his own knowledge but to instil that knowledge and discipline into others around him," Mr Nettleton said.

With an association with the Waikerie CFS Brigade spanning 37 years Graeme's commitment and passion has extended to the countless hours he has provided to train CFS volunteers both locally and across South Australia.

"This has included 21 years as Captain where his leadership has built a strong Brigade to be capable of combatting emergency situations using the highest disciplines of Road Crash Rescue and Hazmat, covering the Riverland and parts of Victoria," Mr Nettleton said.

He has also brought success in fire service competitions at a State and National level and more recently in New Zealand to vindicate his leadership and personal abilities.

"Graeme unreservedly gives his time to serve humanity locally and nationally and his enthusiasm to continually be available to help someone in need or to use his firefighting skills is exhibited by his Brigade attendance records," Mr Nettleton said.

"Graeme's passion and commitment is to be venerated and I congratulate him as a worthy recipient among this year's Queen's Birthday Honours List."

<Message Ends>

Media information
For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Government of South Australia