SA Country Fire Service



<Message Starts>

Four districts to start their Fire Danger Season


The Fire Danger Season will start in four CFS fire ban districts tomorrow with the Deputy Chief Officer Andrew Lawson reminding all South Australians of their responsibilities to prepare for bushfire.

"Fire restrictions will apply to the Eastern Eyre Peninsula, Lower Eyre Peninsula, West Coast and Flinders fire ban districts," Mr Lawson said.

"Although there are still nine other districts whose fire ban seasons will commence in the coming few weeks, it doesn't mean that residents and visitors in these areas should be complacent about their responsibility to plan for bushfires," he said.

"No matter where you live or work, anyone can be affected by bushfire this season and one of the best ways to be prepared for it is by developing or updating a Bushfire Survival Plan."

The North East Pastoral and North West Pastoral Districts began their season a fortnight earlier this year, on October 15.

The Adelaide Metropolitan, Mount Lofty Ranges, Kangaroo Island, Lower South East, Upper South East, Mid North, Murraylands, Yorke Peninsula and Riverland will start their Fire Danger Season on various dates over the next four weeks.

Mr Lawson said property owners who plan to burn grass, scrub and rubbish to reduce fuel loads in the coming weeks ahead of the fire danger season should monitor weather conditions and exercise caution with their burns.

"The CFS has responded to a number of burn-offs on private land ahead of the fire danger season, including a property at MacDonald Park yesterday where a rubbish burn spread quickly and caused extensive damage to a glasshouse and threatened a nearby property," Mr Lawson said.

"I urge anyone burning on a property to make sure the area is clear of all flammable material and that the burn is closely monitored at all times with sufficient water or an extinguishing agent on hand," he said.

The Adelaide Metropolitan, Mount Lofty Ranges and Kangaroo Island Fire Ban Districts will start their Fire Danger Season on 1 December.

For more information on fire restrictions visit the CFS website at

<Message Ends>

Please do not reply to this email - you will not receive a response.

For media enquiries call the CFS Media Line on 08 8115 3531.

Further information
Information Hotline: 1800 362 361.
Hearing or speech impaired users phone: 1300 555 727 then ask for 1800 362 361.
Teletype service: TTY 133 677 then ask for 1800 362 361. More options are available at National Relay Service or

You received this email because you subscribed to our list. You can unsubscribe at any time.

 Government of South Australia