SA Country Fire Service


SA Country Fire Service Logo

<Message Starts>

Fire Danger Season in five more districts


The Fire Danger Season will begin in five Fire Ban Districts in South Australia tomorrow.

This means that fire restrictions will apply in the Mid North, Murraylands, Riverland, Upper South East and Yorke Peninsula.

CFS State Coordinator Malim Watts is urging all South Australians to think about planning for their safety by developing a Bushfire Survival Plan.

"Every South Australian lives in a Fire Ban District that have restrictions applied to them when they come into the Fire Danger Season at different times, depending on their geographical location," Mr Watts said.

"Therefore anyone who lives, works or is likely to travel through a Fire Ban District where restrictions are in place should have a plan to know what to do if faced with a threatening bushfire."

The Fire Danger Season for the Lower South East will start on 22 November and for the Adelaide Metropolitan, Kangaroo Island and Mount Lofty Ranges, on 1 December.

"The recent fires near Tulka on Eyre Peninsula and in many other parts of the state demonstrated just how volatile and unpredictable fires can be and the importance of knowing what do when confronted by one," Mr Watts.

The Tulka fire which was brought under control on Monday afternoon swept through about 1,800 hectares and destroyed a home, 14 cabins, several sheds and four cars.

"Fortunately there were no serious injuries in this incident but it highlighted that bushfire safety is a shared responsibility and everyone who lives, works or is likely to travel through a bushfire-prone area must have a plan and prepare a Bushfire Survival Plan," Mr Watts said.

The CFS website has information to help residents assess their household's risk and to prepare a Bushfire Survival Plan which can be found in the "Prepare Act Survive" tab.

<Message Ends>

Please do not reply to this email - this mailbox is not checked regularly.

For media enquiries telephone the CFS Media Line on (08) 8115 3531.

Further information:
Contact the Bushfire Information Hotline on 1800 362 361, for hearing or speech impaired users, phone 1300 555 727 then ask for 1800 362 361 or teletype service TTY 133 677 then ask for 1800 362 361.
Other options are available at National Relay Service.
Or visit

Check out our Facebook and share our messages

You received this email because at some point in the past you signed up to our mailing list. To unsubscribe from the CFS-SUBSCRIBERS list, click the following link:

CFS Taxi stripe graphic Government of South Australia