SA Country Fire Service


SA Country Fire Service Logo


Caution requested as stubble and broad acre burnings begin



As landowners begin stubble burning on paddocks in preparation for seeding, people may notice an increase in smoke in grain and crop growing districts.

"With the state still within the Fire Danger Season, land owners are reminded to gain approval from their local council prior to considering burns," SA Country Fire Service Director of Preparedness Operations Leigh Miller said.

During the Fire Danger Season burns can only be carried out if the correct permit under the Fire And Emergency Services Act has been issued and conditions adhered to.

"Schedule 9 permits must all be obtained from the local council prior to burns beginning," Mr Miller said.

Fire Ban Season are currently forecast to end in the following districts on:
31 March for North East Pastoral and North West Pastoral
15 April for Eastern Eyre Peninsula, Flinders Ranges, Lower Eyre Peninsula, Murray Lands,
Riverland, Upper South East and West Coast
30 April for Adelaide Metropolitan, Mount Lofty Ranges, Kangaroo Island, Mid North, Lower South East and Yorke

Outside of the Fire Danger Season burns must comply with local council, EPA and Environmental Protection regulations covered in the Broad Acre Burning or Vegetation Pile Burning Codes of Practice.

More information on burning and appropriate regulations can be found at











Please do not reply to this email - this mailbox is not checked regularly.

For media enquiries telephone the CFS Media Line on (08) 8115 3531.

Further information:
Contact the Bushfire Information Hotline on 1800 362 361, for hearing or speech impaired users, phone 1300 555 727 then ask for 1800 362 361 or teletype service TTY 133 677 then ask for 1800 362 361.
Other options are available at National Relay Service.
Or visit

Check out our Facebook and share our messages

You received this email because at some point in the past you signed up to our mailing list. To unsubscribe from the CFS-SUBSCRIBERS list, click the following link:

CFS Taxi stripe graphic Government of South Australia