Bushfire Management Planning :: CFS

Bushfire Management Planning

Bushfire is a natural part of the South Australian landscape and whilst it cannot be totally excluded through preventative measures, the impact can be significantly mitigated through a combination of effort made by organisations and individuals.

South Australia will experience bushfires every fire season in most areas of the State and a serious destructive fire will occur somewhere in the State in six or seven years out of every ten years.  A bushfire can cause injury and loss of human life and damage or destroy property if it is able to ignite and travel through the landscape and impact where people and property are located.

Understanding what this bushfire risk is to people and property in any part of the State will provide understanding and assist organisations and individuals in selecting appropriate actions to take to counteract preventable damage.

The State Bushfire Co-ordination Committee (SBCC) is responsible for bushfire management planning in SA and has divided the State into nine Bushfire Management Areas with a Committee for each area.  When the assessment process is completed for each area it is provided publicly in the form of a Bushfire Management Area Plan.  A Bushfire Management Area Plan identifies these risks and what actions can be taken by organisations and individuals to reduce the bushfire risk.

These Plans are being developed as part of a project funded by the Natural Disaster Resilience Program in partnership with the Commonwealth and State Government of South Australia. 

The 9 Bushfire Management Areas are:

Bushfire Management Areas Simple Plan

Adelaide & Mount Lofty Ranges


Flinders, Mid North & Yorke Peninsula

Kangaroo Island

Limestone Coast

Lower Eyre Peninsula

Murray Mallee


Upper Eyre Peninsula

Download this brochure for further information on Bushfire Management Planning.

CFS.BushfireManagementPlanning@sa.gov.au or call (08) 8463 4151.